Terms of Reference for Accessibility Advisory Committee


The Regional Niagara Accessibility Advisory Committee is an advisory body established by the Regional Municipality of Niagara in accordance with the following Terms of Reference. The Committee has been established to advise the Regional Council, reporting through the Planning and Development Committee and Public Works Committee on Municipal requirements as contained in the Ontarians with Disabilities Act, including the preparation of annual accessibility plan.


To advise the Regional Municipality of Niagara regarding the preparation of an annual accessibility plan. The plan must address the identification, removal and prevention of barriers to persons with disabilities in the Region's by-laws, policies, programs, practices and services, including the following components:

  • A report on the steps the municipality has taken to identify, remove and prevent barriers to people with disabilities
  • How the municipality assess its proposals for by-laws, policies, programs, practices and services
  • A list of by-laws, policies, programs, practices and services the municipality will review in the coming year to identify barriers
  • How the municipality intends to identify, remove and prevent barriers in the coming year

The Committee may also advise on other municipal obligations under the Act, as follows:

  • Considerations related to access for persons with disabilities when buying goods and services
  • Development of accessibility plans for municipally administered, sub-contracted or licensed transit providers in consultation with person with disabilities
  • The percentage of modified units in new social housing
  • Access considerations in site plan approvals
  • Improved access to municipal elections and selection of voting locations
  • Other matters as directed by Council


The Regional Niagara Accessibility Advisory Committee shall be comprised of the following voting members up to a maximum of 14 members:

The term of membership shall be four years and the membership shall be approved by Council in accordance with the membership requirements in the Terms of Reference.

Further to those guidelines, at their meeting of June 20, 2005 Council recommended an additional two members, which established an ideal committee composition at 14 members. It is also suggested that all attempts be made to stay within the guideline composition, however if the applications received or the qualifications of applicants do not fully address the guideline composition criteria that the most capable and qualified applicants be recommended for appointment to fulfill the membership composition of 14. Therefore an amended guideline that is ideal at this time for the Regional Niagara Accessibility Advisory Committee is suggested as:

Up to 14 members being:

  • At least one member from Regional Council
  • At least eight members who are people with disabilities
  • Two members who are citizen or caregiver volunteers
  • Three members who are community or professional stakeholders


A chairperson will be elected from Committee members on an annual basis at the first meeting of the new year to preside over meetings and Committee business.

Committee Membership

Regional Councillors

Members of the Public

  • Geoff Eden
  • Ian Greaves
  • Liz Hay
  • Tyler Hore
  • Brian Kon
  • Heather Matthews
  • Christine Peddle
  • Veronica Sparling
  • Crystal Theal
  • Dan Whipple (Vice-Chair)

Administrative Support

The Committee will receive administrative support similar to the support provided for other committees of Council. This will include recording of minutes, staff support with meeting preparations, support necessary to convening an accessible meeting and other required supports.

The Committee will receive staff technical support for each of the business areas of the corporation through designated staff of each department as represented on the cross-departmental committee charged with implementation of the Ontarians with Disabilities Act.


The Regional Niagara Accessibility Advisory Committee shall have an annual operating budget to be used for valid Committee purposes as detailed in the budget approved by the Regional Municipality of Niagara for the current year.

The Regional Clerk shall submit a budget request each year to the Regional Municipality of Niagara for the consideration and approval of the Regional Municipality of Niagara.

There shall be no compensation payable to the members of the Committee except for mileage reimbursement for regularly schedule of Regional Niagara Accessibility Advisory Committee. Report ICP 14-2009 was received at the Planning and Development Committee and Public Works Committee on March 24, 2009 the following motion was made and ratified at Regional Council on March 26, 2009.

"105. Transportation for Volunteer Committee Members
ICP 14-2009

Moved by Councillor D'Angela
Seconded by Councillor Lepp

That Report ICP 14-2009, respecting Transportation for Volunteer Committee Members, be received;

That the Niagara Region provide compensation for transportation costs to members of the Accessibility Advisory Committee (i.e. Para Transit services or mileage reimbursement) to allow their participation on the Committee, and that the Terms of Reference for the Committee be amended accordingly;

That to ensure equal opportunities for members of our community with disabilities to participate on all of our committees with community representatives, we extend this transportation related assistance to those committees as well.



The Committee shall meet at least four times per year, and may meet more frequently. Half plus one members of the current membership shall constitute a quorum.

The Committee meetings will be held at an accessible location as determined by the Committee members. Meetings will be open to the public.

Committee meetings will be governed by Regional Niagara's By-law No. 7174-93 A by-Law for governing the proceedings of the Regional Council and its Committees, the Conduct of its Members and the Calling of Meetings as amended.

Agenda and Minutes

Staff will prepare Committee meeting agendas with input from the Chair and Committee members.

Committee meeting minutes will be prepared by staff and forwarded to each Committee member at least five days prior to the meeting at which the minutes are to be adopted.

Members will advise staff in advance of any amendments that they believe are required to the minutes. Staff with then submit the minutes to the Planning and Development Committee and Public Works Committee for approval and shall take effect only upon the approval of Council.

Page Feedback Did you find what you were looking for today?